Otterbein University

Digital Commons @ Otterbein

1907-1958 Productions

Productions 1907-1961

6-5-1947

Each In His Time

Otterbein University

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalcommons.otterbein.edu/production_1907-1958



Part of the Acting Commons, Dance Commons, and the Theatre History Commons

Recommended Citation

Otterbein University, "Each In His Time" (1947). 1907-1958 Productions. 60. https://digitalcommons.otterbein.edu/production_1907-1958/60

This Book is brought to you for free and open access by the Productions 1907-1961 at Digital Commons @ Otterbein. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1907-1958 Productions by an authorized administrator of Digital Commons @ Otterbein. For more information, please contact digitalcommons07@otterbein.edu.

OTTERBEIN COLLEGE

presents

Each In His Time

A DRAMATIC PRESENTATION WRITTEN FOR THE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION OF THE COLLEGE IN JUNE, 1947

by

Evelyn Edwards Bale and Robert Price

With the Assistance of

John F. Smith
L. Lee Shackson
Esther Harley Phillippi
Verda B. Evans

June 5 and 7, 1947

The Alumni Gymnasium

8:30 P. M.

Synopsis of Scenes

ACT I

THE HERITAGE

1847 - 1870

Place: The home of Lewis Davis.

Scene 1

A faculty meeting in the spring of 1852.

Scene 2

An incident in 1856.

Scene 3

A Civil War interlude in 1861.

Scene 4

The night of the fire in 1869.

ACT II

YOUNG MATURITY

1870 - 1894

Place: The chapel of the new Administration Building.

Scene 1

A rehearsal in 1877.

Scene 2

A panorama of student life in the "eighties" and "nineties".

Scene 3

President Sanders faces the crisis of 1893.

THE INTERLUDE

SWIFT MOVING YEARS

1894 - 1946

ACT III

THE EVER-PRESENT TASK

Scene: A spot on the campus.

Time: An October evening in the Centennial Year.

(The audience will stand during the entrance of the Centennial Queen and her court.)

THE CAST

In Order of Their Appearance

Jack Brown		James A. Tressler
Mrs. Lewis Davis		Georgine Linnert
Rev. Lewis Davis		Robert Hamlin
Sylvia Carpenter		Judy Edworthy
John Haywood		David Wagner
Ben Hanby		Richard Willit
A Fugitive Slave		Thomas Smart
Thomas McFadden		Eugene Davis-
		Robert Miller
		Joan Moore
our state and a state		Marie Anderson
		William Troop
T.1. T.		Kenneth Potter
		Mary Jo Wood
		Emily Clark Gordon Cherrington
		John Canfield
His Lady Friend		
		Joyce Robertson, Dorothy Miller,
	10001-	Joan Shinew, Carolyn Carbaugh
The Otterbein Quartet in the	1890'S	Gordon Cherrington, Dura Jones, Gardner Brown, Lloyd Savage
T. J. Sanders		James Todd
		Arthur Schultz
		Carl Schafer
		Jack Marks
		Jack Chambers
		Mary Rose Schaffner
		Martha Troop
		Norma Jean Kreischer
Bob Corey		Eugene Reynolds
		Dr. E. W. E. Schear
Jean Conn Richard Willit	Carl Schafer Kenneth Potter	David Wagner Lloyd Savage
Jack Chambers	Gardner Brown	- Su Dubuge
Joyce Robertson	Ann Sparks	Dura Jones

Rosa Rubino

THE PRODUCTION STAFF

John John	n Franklin Smith
Business Manager	Morris E. Allton
Properties and Maintenance	Sanders Frye
Head Electrician	Albert Sanders
Make-up	
Music	L. Lee Shackson
Head Carpenter	Stanley Busic

Each In His Time

While based upon certain incidents in the history of Otterbein College, "Each In His Time" is not to be construed as a history of the college. That would be a problem beyond the limits of an evening's time and the patience of our audience.

The great men and women of Otterbein are legion. Students and faculty members, trustees and members of remote country churches, friends in Westerville and throughout the world—all have contributed to the Otterbein of today which stands foursquare at the end of a century of distinguished service "to the church and all mankind."

"Each In His Time," by portraying a few of these great people, pays tribute likewise to the hosts of others who in great and small measure have had a share in the building of Otterbein College.

Acts I and II and the interlude refer to historical incidents. Act III, which is fictional, attempts to show how the living past contributes ever to each new generation of Otterbein students.

Thank You

Our special thanks go to the Otterbein Orchestra directed by Mabel Dunn Hopkins; the Footlight Club for costumes; the Hanby State Memorial for furniture; Mr. and Mrs. William Jefferis for the parlor organ used in Act I; Miss Ellen Jones for the sale of tickets at the University Book Store; the Westerville High School for certain properties and stage effects.

Guests of Honor

Guests of honor at the Centennial play are the Centennial Queen and her court. All are members of the class of 1947, and are second, third and fourth generation students.

The Queen, Miss Slyvia Phillips, is the daughter of Vernon Phillips, '17, and the late Edna Miller Phillips, '17, the granddaughter of Mr. and Mrs. L. O. Miller, '77 (Lida Haywood, '77) and the great-granddaughter of Prof. and Mrs. John Haywood (Sylvia Carpenter) who were members of the faculty of Otterbein as early as 1851.

Three third-generation students are included in the court: Harriette Jones Frevert, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Hanby R. Jones, '98, (Mamie Ranck, ex '02), and granddaughter of Absolum W. Jones, '72; Elizabeth Mills, daughter of Prof. and Mrs. Gilbert E. Mills, '20, (Lillie Waters, '20) and granddaughter of Prof. and Mrs. Wellington O. Mills, '88, (Edna Ginn, ex '88); and Martha Good, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. John D. Good, '13, (Rachel Seneff, ex '12), and the granddaughter of B. L. Seneff, '94.

The other members of the court of the Queen are: Jean Bilger, granddaughter of E. G. Leas, '98; Marilyn and Wanda Boyles, daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Elmer L. Boyles, '26, (Neva Priest, '21); Mary Catherine Carlson, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Benjamin Carlson, '22, (Edna Dellinger, '22); Mary Ellen Cassel Case, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Homer D. Cassel, '17, (Opal Gilbert, '17); Mary Alice Hennon, daughter of the late Mrs. Neil Hennon (Mildred Deitsch, '21); Esther Scott, daughter of Rev. and Mrs. Kenneth J. Scott, (Edythe Cave, '21); and Ruth Wolfe, daughter of Rev. and Mrs. Archie S. Wolfe, '15, (Gertrude Meyer, '11).